Choosing between interesting and interesting

It’s funny thing, choosing a college.

I remember exactly zero about touring colleges, except this one: Deep Springs. It was evident to me, even at the time, that I was standing at a crossroads. Not one of two roads, one less traveled. Instead, one of interesting and interesting. Deep Springs struck me as less appealing in the short term, but even a teenager couldn’t miss the strong sense the long term value. RPI, the more conventional approach, offered widely interesting things now, but given the pace of technology, little to no long term value. Both offered learning about who you are – one with your hands and heart, the other with books and brain.

Sure is fun to think about.

Sure is fun to go back, think about what might have been, and construct it now.

Already going on finding great choices for my children…

