Editor’s Choice – Mediocre?

Getting picked as an App Store “Editor’s Choice” is a really big deal. The number of downloads that generates can’t be matched by any other method, especially given that it’s free. Apple wanders through and bestows that honor on apps which they deem worthy for reasons that are completely mysterious.

(OK, not so mysterious. People do it. You can meet them at WWDC. I suppose liquor might work… WWDC really is the best place for a full on sales pitch unless you’re a BigCorp or otherwise connected.)

So when stuff like this happens:
IMG_3288

I just want to shoot myself. That’s the launch screen from the most recent Editor’s Choice game. To which I can only respond: “you keep using that word. I don’t think it means what you think it means.”

me·di·o·creˌ mēdēˈōkər

adjective:
1. of only moderate quality; not very good.
“a mediocre actor”

How on Earth could anyone think this was a good idea? I know – let’s name our company “Average” or “Pedestrian”. Oh OH! How about “Ordinary!” or “EVERYDAY!” We want them to play every day! Get it? /facepalm.

Sigh.

All in all, Smash Hit is exactly what it says on the tin. A moderately interesting endless runner which is eminently forgettable. With just enough clever thought and execution to be worth a download and a few plays. Tossed and forgotten. Now that I think about it, I can’t think of a more apt first word to describe this game. I just can’t believe they took the time to animate that screen, specifically to keep that word visible for even longer.

Pride makes us do such foolish things.

