Snake App Thoughts

Snake for iOS7

I had hopes for this app. It’s beautiful. Has a reasonable monetization strategy. Good gameplay which interacts well with the elegant design.

Fell down for me on two counts:

1) Too many gates to even get to basic gameplay. Why do I need to hook up with friends to wiggle a snake around the screen?

There’s a chicken and egg problem here. I’m not going to want to tell my friends about this app until I’ve had a chance to try it.

2) Controls. Here’s the thing. Snake is a game which requires snap turning. Doing one block swipes just doesn’t work on the screen. You hands block to much of the screen and just can’t move fast enough, even on the slowest setting, to be playable.

Sigh.

Wanted to like this one.

Surprised that Apple so widely featured it.

