Top Five (Wrong) Reasons You Don’t Have Testers

Top Five (Wrong) Reasons You Don’t Have Testers

“The QA department should be independent and powerful, it must not report to the development team, in fact, the head of QA should have veto power over releasing any software that doesn’t meet muster.” – Joel Spolsky

Ok Mr. Smartypants. How the heck do you get there?

I swear I feel like I’m lost on country roads sometimes. “You can’t get there from here…” goes through my head, replete with a soft southern drawl.

Here’s the thing. This whole article applies to a company which has made the transition into being larger enough to having a formal QA group. I agree wholeheartedly with his points, but I just don’t understand how to do that transition. Often, when starting small, the culture gets established as no testing required and the process of emplacing QA is met with huge resistance.

Summary of key points:

1) “Bugs, by definition, leak out because programmers did not see the bug in their own code. A lot of times it just takes a second set of eyes to see a bug.”

2) Relying on fixing bugs fast increase your chance to add more new bugs.

3) “My customers will test my software for me.” Leads to huge damage to reputation. Interestingly, some companies are immune to this negative.

4) Anyone qualified to work as a tester won’t want to. “With testers, like programmers, the best ones are an order of magnitude better than the average ones.”

5) “I can’t afford testers”.

This last one is the one i have the most trouble with. In medium to large companies, totally agree. Small, just don’t know what to do.

Lots of other good advice in post. Re-read end-to-end.

