Daily Builds Are Your Friend

Daily Builds Are Your Friend

“A daily build is anautomatic, daily, complete build of the entire source tree.” – Joel Spolsky

I view this as my personal biggest failure as a software engineering manager. I’ve never EVER been able to sustain an environment in which there was sufficient test coverage combined with RCS and a daily build tool. Something always squirreled away – nearly always the test coverage issue. Many programmers who have worked for me in the past resist automated testing as if it were the plague.

Yet I find myself in exactly the same situation for at least the tenth time. This time, like in the past, I’ve actually written a bulk of the tests and have hooked the whole process end-to-end.

I just don’t know what to do differently to make it last the test of time.

It’s a cultural thing. One which I just haven’t found the words to inspire adherence to long enough for the habit to form. Even though the same programmers find things like the Joel Test (http://www.joelonsoftware.com/articles/fog0000000043.html) to useful interviewing tools. Hell, the same folks even complemented me on using it the job advertisement.

Must go wrack brain more.

Must go read more about habits.

